Our Chapter

chapters founding fathers

Phi Delta Theta was founded in 1848 at Miami University. The Iowa Delta Chapter of Phi Delta Theta was founded at Drake University in 1961.

In the fall of 2016, Phi Delta Theta International decided to temporarily close the Phi Delta Theta colony for the 2016-2017 academic years. Phi Delt 2020, the organization’s long-term strategic plan, requires a minimum of 40 members to continue colony status at each university. The decision to temporarily close the fraternity was made with careful consideration. However, due to the low membership count, our policy required us to take time to examine our standings. This transition period will allow Phi Delta Theta representatives, alumni and current members the opportunity to recruit the next generation of Phi Delta Theta brothers.

Phi Delta Theta will expand recruitment efforts during this transition period with the goal of recolonizing the fraternity in 2018. Phi Delt 2020, the strategic plan, specifically includes plans to recolonize the Iowa Delta Chapter because of Drake University’s academic prowess and strong alumni base. We hope with successful recruitment, members will once again reside in the current, renovated Phi Delta Theta house.

Phi Delta Theta – Drake University • Copyright © 2020
Phi Delta Theta Housing Corporation, PO Box 47576, Des Moines, IA 50311
Facebook LinkedIn